Our Curriculum Provision

As a church school we ensure that all of our children are exposed to a range of learning experiences that will enrich their lives and develop their individual potential. We want our children to flourish in all areas of their lives, now and in the future. 

'Life in all its fullness' John 10:10 is a Bible quotation which guides our school team in making important decisions about what, why and how our children learn.

Christ Church CE (VC) Primary School is a Church of England school and RE is taught via the National Curriculum as well as the Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education. We teach our children about a variety of world religions, including, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam and Judaism, and we believe that in this multi-cultural society it is very important to do so.

However, as a Church School we actively promote the beliefs and values of the Christian faith through our RE Lessons and our daily acts of Collective Worship. Our church school values, alongside British Values, are threaded through all aspects of our curriculum.

Religious Education has strong links with our PSHE curriculum as both are concerned with the academic education of our children and their emotional, social and moral development. We nurture not only self-esteem but also respect for and understanding of each other and their faiths and customs. We aim to enhance our children's spiritual growth, providing opportunities for them to gain self knowledge, to experience awe and wonder of the natural world and human achievements and to take time to reflect on what they have seen, heard and experienced. 

We also provide a coordinated programme of discrete and cross curricular opportunities for children to develop their personal, social and emotional skills and develop their knowledge of health education and citizenship.

The Curriculum

At Christ Church we follow The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, (more information can be found here) The National Curriculum, (more information can be found here ) and The North Yorkshire Agreed Syllabus (RE) (see attachments).

There are three stages in the Primary years: Foundation Stage (Reception) Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2); Key Stage 2 (Years 3 to 6). 

Foundation Stage  - Reception pupils

The Reception curriculum is planned and assessed using the Foundation Stage Profile. It consists of  three prime areas and the four specific areas:

The Three Prime Areas:
1.       Communication and Language
2.       Physical Development
3.       Personal, Social and Emotional development

The Four Specific Areas
1.       Literacy
2.       Mathematics
3.       Understanding of the World
4.       Expressive Arts and Design

The National Curriculum (NC) is followed by both Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2, although their are different requirements for each age group.The core subjects are Maths, English, Science and Computing.The foundation subjects are Religious Education (RE), Music, Art, Physical Education, History, Design Technology and Geography. For each subject and Key Stage, programmes of study set out what pupils should be taught and attainment targets set out the expected standards of pupils' performance.On-going assessment is also vital to inform our planning. Children are more formally assessed in line with national procedures at the age of 7 (Key Stage 1) and 11 (Key Stage 2).

Our teaching of phonics is planned using Letters and Sounds and is supported by the Jolly Phonics scheme. Pupils in Year 1 take part in a Phonics Screening at the end of the year as part of the national assessment process.

We have a number of different reading schemes which we use to support the differing needs of our learners. The main reading scheme used in school is Collins 'Big Cat'.